13.-Lieutenant-Governors of Provinces, 1867-1944, and Present Ministries as at Dec. 31, 1944-continued

BRITISH COLUMBIA

LIEUTENANT-GOVERNORS

Name	Date of Commission	Name	Date of Commission
ALBERT NORTON RICHARDS CLEMENT F. CORNWALL HUGH NELSON EDGAE DEWDNEY THOMAS R. MCINNES. Sir HENEI G. JOLY DE LOTEINIÈRE.	June 27, 1876 June 20, 1881 Feb. 8, 1887 Nov. 1, 1892 Nov. 18, 1897 June 21, 1900	T. W. PATEREON. Sir Frank S. BARNARD. Col. Edward G. Prior. Walter C. Nichol. R. Randolph Bruce. J. W. Fordham Johnson. Eric W. Hamber. LL-Col. William C. Woodward.	Dec. 5, 1914 Dec. 9, 1919 Dec. 24, 1920 Jan. 21, 1926 July 18, 1931 Apr. 29, 1936

TWENTY-THIRD MINISTRY

(Party standing at latest General Election, Oct. 21, 1941: 32 Coalition [20 Liberals, 12 Conservatives]. 1 Liberal, 14 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation and 1 Labour.)

Office	Name	Date of Appointment	
Premier, Minister of Finance and President of the Executive Council Provincial Secretary, Minister of Labour and Commissioner of Fisheries Attorney-General Minister of Lands. Minister of Agriculture. Minister of Mines and Minister of Trade and Industry Minister of Public Works and Minister of Railways. Minister of Municipal Affairs Minister of Education	Hon. John Hart. Hon. George S. Pearson, Hon. Royal L. Maitland, K.C. Hon. Edward Tourtellotte Kenney Hon. Kenneth C. MacDonald Hon. Ernest C. Carson. Hon. Herbert Anscomb. Hon. Herbert Anscomb.	Dec. 10, 1941 Dec. 10, 1941 Nov. 8, 1944 Dec. 10, 1941 Oct. 28, 1942 Sept. 15, 1942 May 11, 1944	

THE NORTHWEST TERRITORIES

Norg.—In 1888, the Districts of Alberta, Assiniboia, Athabaska, and Saskatchewan, then called the Northwest Territories, with their capital at Regina, were given responsible government, and the former Northwest Council was replaced by the Northwest Legislature, which existed until Aug. 31, 1905. When the area included in these Districts was formed into the Provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan on Sept. 1, The prevailing form of government for the remaining part of the Territories was discontinued in 1905 and the office of Lieutenant-Government solished. In its place, government was vested in a Commissioner and a Council, now composed of six members, one of whom may be appointed Deputy Commissioner. The administration of the various Acts, Ordinances, and Regulations pertaining to the Northwest Territorics is supervised by the Director of the Lands, Parks and Forests Branch, Department of Mines and Resources, who is also Deputy Commissioner. The seat of government is at Ottawa,

LIEUTENANT-GOVERNORS

Name	Date of Appointment	Name	Date of Appointment
WILLIAM MCDOUGALL. A. G. ARCHIBALD. FRANCIS GOODECHALL JOHNSON. Alexinder Morris. David Laird. Edgar Dewdney.	May 20, 1870 Apr. 9, 1872 Dec. 2, 1872 Oct. 7, 1876	Joseph Royal. C. H. Mackintosh. M. C. Cameron A. E. Forget A. E. Forget	Oct. 31, 1893 May 30, 1898 Oct. 4, 1898

¹ This office was abolished in 1905, see headnote.

² Second term.

TERRITORIAL COUNCIL

(Appointed by the Governor General in Council)

Commissioner-CHARLES CAMBELL.

Deputy Commissioner-Roy Alexander Gibson. Members of the Council-Austin Louis Cumming; Kenneth Robinson Daly; Harold Wigmore McGill; Stuart Taylor Wood. Secretary-David Livingstone McKennd.